Duxbury

Duxbury MassachusettsDuxbury is a beautiful oceanfront suburb located 35 miles south of Boston. This historic town is very popular because of the quiet residential neighborhoods, top rated schools and 6 miles of sand beach. Duxbury is a hub for boating/marina, outdoor activities, rich history and culture, and thousands of acres of conservation land and walking trails. Voted by Vogue.com as “New England’s Best-Kept Secret”, this seaside hideaway is the perfect quintessential town. Home to the famous Powder Point Bridge, Island Creek Oysters, cranberry bogs, and so much more!

Population:  14,000 – 15,000

Location: 35 miles south of Boston / 38 miles north of Cape Cod

Size: 37.6 miles (23 square miles land & 14 square miles water)

Geography: Ocean, Bay, Beach, Ponds, Marshes, Rivers, Brooks, Back Rivers, Conservation Land, Cranberry Bogs

Bordering Towns: Kingston, Marshfield, Pembroke

Lifestyles: Boating/Sailing, Marina, Fishing, Equestrian, Golf, Hiking/Trails, Jogging/Running, Water Sports, Tennis, Swimming, Kayaking

View currently available homes for sale in Duxbury

Churches

Christian Science: http://www.christianscience.com/

First Baptist: http://www.fbcd.org/

First Parish – Unitarian: http://www.uudux.org/

Holy Family: http://www.holyfamilyduxbury.org/

Pilgrim Church: http://www.pilgrimchurchofduxbury.org/

St. John – Episcopal: http://www.stjohnsduxbury.org/

St. Margaret’s: http://societyofstmargaret.org/

St. Paul’s: http://www.stpaulsduxbury.org/
 

Conservation Areas & Trails

Bay Farm: http://www.town.duxbury.ma.us/public_documents/DuxburyMA_Conservation/ConAreas/bayfarm

Conservation & Walking Trails: http://www.town.duxbury.ma.us/public_documents/DuxburyMA_Conservation/ConAreas/index

Cow Tent Hill & Cushman Preserve: http://wildlandstrust.org/duxbury/

Duxbury Beach

http://www.duxburybeachpark.com/

Permits, Rules & Regulations: http://www.town.duxbury.ma.us/Public_Documents/DuxburyMA_BTPermits/index

Facilities

Art Complex Museum: http://www.artcomplex.org/

Duxbury Performing Art Center: https://www.duxbury.k12.ma.us/domain/65

Fire Stations: http://www.town.duxbury.ma.us/public_documents/DuxburyMA_FireApparatus/Our%20Fire%20Stations

Library: http://www.duxburyfreelibrary.org/

Police Department: http://www.duxburypolice.org/

Recreation Department (public pool, tennis courts and basketball): http://www.town.duxbury.ma.us/Public_Documents/Duxburyma_recreation/index

Duxbury MA waterfrontRural & Historic Society: http://duxburyhistory.org/

Senior Center: http://www.duxburyseniorcenter.org/

South Shore Conservatory - Music: http://www.sscmusic.org/

Town Center: Halls Corner located in South Duxbury

Town Hall: http://www.town.duxbury.ma.us/

878 Tremont Street, Duxbury, MA 02332

Hours of Operation
Monday:  8:00 A.M. to 7:00 P.M.
Tuesday – Thursday:  8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.
Friday:  8:00 A.M. to 12:30 P.M.

Yacht Club: http://www.duxburyyachtclub.org/

Historical Sites

Bradford House: http://duxburyhistory.org/historic-houses/bradford-house/

John Alden House: http://www.alden.org/

King Caesar House: http://duxburyhistory.org/historic-houses/king-caesar-house/

Myles Standish Burial Grounds: https://newengland.com/today/travel/massachusetts/duxbury/

Myles Standish State Park: http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/dcr/massparks/region-south/myles-standish-monument-state-reservation.html

Nathaniel Winsor Jr. House: http://duxburyhistory.org/historic-houses/nathaniel-winsor-jr-house/

Old Shipbuilder’s Historic District: https://www.nps.gov/nr/travel/maritime/shi.htm

Powder Point Bridge: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YAyf9Q4rPiM

Tinkertown: http://www.tinkertownna.org/about-tinkertown/

Medical & Veterinarian Facilities

Duxbury Bay MassachusettsBeth Israel Deaconess Hospital – Plymouth: http://www.bidplymouth.org/

Duxbury Animal Hospital: http://www.duxburyanimalhospital.com/

South Shore Hospital: https://www.southshorehospital.org/

Urgent Care: http://www.healthexpressma.com/

Oyster Farms

2 Rock Oyster Farm: http://www.bostonherald.com/photos/gallery_2_rock_oyster_farm_at_duxbury_bay

Blue Moon Oyster Company

Blue Yonder: https://www.facebook.com/BlueYonderOysterFarm/

Duxbury Bay Shellfish: http://www.duxburybayshellfish.com/

Duxbury Oyster Company: http://duxburyoystercompany.com/

Eagle’s Nest Oysters: http://www.eaglesnestoysters.com/

Island Creek Oysters: http://www.islandcreekoysters.com/

Merry Oysters: http://www.merryoysters.com/

Old Cove Oyster Company: http://oldcoveoysters.com/

Powder Point Oysters: http://powderpointoysters.com/index.html

Real Oyster Cult: http://realoystercult.com/

Snug Harbor Fish Company: http://www.snugharborfishcompany.com/

Standish Shore Oysters: http://www.standishshoreoysters.com/

Sweet Sound Oysters: http://www.sweetsoundoysters.com/

Public Transportation

Boston Logan Airport https://www.massport.com/logan-airport/

Buses: http://www.gatra.org/index.php/routes/

            http://www.p-b.com/Sched-SoShore.html

Highway: Route 3 Northbound and Southbound

Marshfield Municipal Airport: http://www.shorelineaviation.net/marshfield-airport-ghg

Train Station: http://www.mbta.com/schedules_and_maps/rail/lines/?route=KINGSTON

Schools

Berrybrook School: http://www.berrybrookschool.org/

Blue River Montessori School: https://www.bluerivermontessori.org/

Duxbury Maritime School: http://dbms.org/

Duxbury Private Schools: Bay Farm Montessori Academy http://www.bfarm.org/

Duxbury Public Schools: http://www.duxbury.k12.ma.us/

Elements Montessori School: http://elementsmontessori.com/

Good Shepherd Christian Academy:

http://www.privateschoolreview.com/good-shepherd-christian-academy-profile

Learn In Play Preschool: https://www.facebook.com/Learn-in-Play-Preschool-358689037629232/

Magic Dragon Children’s Center: http://www.duxbury.k12.ma.us/domain/58

Pied Piper Preschool: http://www.piedpiperpreschool.net/

Pilgrim Childcare and Preschool: http://www.pccpduxbury.org/