Scituate

Scituate HarborThis quiet, seaside community stretches along 5 miles of the Massachusetts Bay and has the best scenic views of the famous Scituate Lighthouse and beautiful rocky shores. Scituate has a total of six beaches, boating and yachts clubs, a public and private golf course, historical sites and parks, and several waterfront restaurants. Scituate Harbor is famous for boating and fishing, as well as its festivities and annual events held throughout the town and along the marina. Be sure to visit the historic Barker Tavern (formerly known as the William-Barker House) which was established in 1634 and still remains on the harbor.

Population:  17,863

Location: 31 miles southeast of Boston

County: Plymouth County

Size: 31.8 square miles (17.6 square miles land & 14.2 square miles water)

Geography: Massachusetts Bay, Scituate Harbor, Beaches, Rocky Shores, Marshes, Rivers, Brooks, Forest, Parks, Conservation Areas

Bordering Towns: Cohasset, Hingham, Norwell, Marshfield

Lifestyles: Boating/Sailing, Marinas, Beaches, Swimming, Fishing, Kayaking, Parks, Fishing, Walking/Hiking Trails, Golf Courses, Equestrian, Basketball Courts, Tennis Courts, Cross Country Skiing

Town Map: http://myhometownmap.com/images/maps/Scituate%20Full%20Map.pdf

View currently available homes for sale in Scituate

Beaches

List of Beaches: http://scituatechamber.org/live

  • Egypt Beach
  • Humarock Beach
  • Minot Beach
  • Peggotty Beach
  • Sand Hills Beach
  • Town of Scituate Beach

Churches

Scituate Lawson TowerChrist Lutheran Church: http://www.clc-scituate.org/

First Baptist Church: http://www.firstbaptistscituate.com/

First Parish Unitarian Unversalist Church of Scituate: http://www.firstparishscituate.org/

First Trinitarian Congregational Church: http://www.ftccscituate.org/

Friends of St Frances X Cabrini: http://stfrancesxcabriniscituate.org/

Harbor United Methodist Church: http://harborumc.weebly.com/

Servants of Christ: http://servantsofchristministries.org/

St. Luke’s Episcopal Church: http://www.saintlukesscituate.com/

St. Mary’s of the Nativity: http://stmaryscituate.org/


Conservation Areas, Parks & Trails

Cushing Memorial State Park: http://www.stateparks.com/cushing_memorial_state_park_in_massachusetts.html

Driftway Conservation Park: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Driftway-Conservation-Park/359187450819918

Hiking Trails: http://www.south-shore-hiking-trails.com/hiking-trails-scituate.html

Maxwell Conservation Trust: http://www.maxwellconservationtrust.org/Map.aspx

Rivermoor Habitat Park: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rivermoor-Habitat-Park/495217310659608

Facilities

Boat Club: http://freedomboatclub.com/locations/108-scituate-ma/

Fire Department: http://www.scituatema.gov/fire-department

Friends of Scituate Seniors: https://www.facebook.com/FoSSeniors/

Hatherly Country Club: https://www.hatherlycc.com/club/scripts/section/section.asp?NS=HP

Historic Society: http://scituatehistoricalsociety.org/mann-house/

Library: http://www.scituatetownlibrary.org/

Police Department: http://www.scituatepolice.org/

Recreation Department: http://www.scituatema.gov/recreation-department

Scituate Arts Association: http://www.scituateart.com/SAAapplication.html

Scituate Boat Works: http://www.scituateboatworks.com/

Scituate Country Club: http://www.scituatecc.com/club/scripts/section/section.asp?NS=HP

Senior Center: http://www.scituatema.gov/council-on-aging

Scituate Harbor Marina: http://www.scituateharbormarina.com/

Scituate Maritime Center: http://www.scituatema.gov/scituate-facility-rentals/pages/scituate-maritime-center

Town Hall: http://www.scituatema.gov/town-clerk

600 Chief Justice Cushing Highway
Scituate, MA 02066
(781) 545-8743

Monday, Wednesday, Thursday: 8:30 am to 4:45 pm
Tuesday: 8:30 am to 7:30 pm
Friday: 8:30 am to 11:45 am

Widow’s Walk Golf Course: http://www.widowswalkgolf.com/

Yacht Club:  http://www.shyc.net/

Historical Sites

Cudworth House: http://scituatehistoricalsociety.org/cudworth/

Early Scituate Families: http://scituatehistoricalsociety.org/early-scituate-families/

Lawson Tower: http://scituatehistoricalsociety.org/tower/

Mann Farmhouse & Museum: http://scituatehistoricalsociety.org/mann-house/

Minot’s Ledge Light: https://www.nps.gov/boha/learn/historyculture/minots-ledge-light.htm

Old Scituate Light: http://oldscituatelight.blogspot.com/

The Barker Tavern (formerly Williams-Barker House c. 1634): http://www.barkertavern.com/

The Bates House: http://scituatehistoricalsociety.org/bates/

Woodworth House: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodworth_House

Medical & Veterinarian Facilities

Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital – Milton: http://bidmilton.org/

Care Well Urgent Care – Norwell: http://carewellurgentcare.com/locations/norwell-ma-urgent-care/

Driftway Animal Hospital: http://driftway.com/

Harbor Medical Associates: http://www.harbormedical.com/site/index.cfm

South Shore Hospital - Weymouth: http://www.southshorehospital.org/

VCA Roberts South Shore Animal Hospital – Weymouth (emergencies): https://vcahospitals.com/south-shore-weymouth

Public Transportation

Boston Logan Airport https://www.massport.com/logan-airport/

Buses: http://www.gatra.org/index.php/sloop-scituate-loop/

Highways: Route 3 & Route 3A Northbound and Southbound, Route 123

Marshfield Municipal Airport: http://www.shorelineaviation.net/marshfield-airport-ghg

Train Stations

Greenbush Station: http://www.mbta.com/schedules_and_maps/rail/lines/stations/?stopId=25668

North Scituate: http://www.mbta.com/schedules_and_maps/rail/lines/stations/?stopId=25669

Schools

Beach Street School: http://beachstreetschool.com/

Cushing Elementary School: http://www.scituate.k12.ma.us/index.php/cushing

Erdman Preschool: http://www.erdmanpreschool.org/

Gates Intermediate School: http://www.scituate.k12.ma.us/index.php/gates

Hatherly Elementary School: http://www.scituate.k12.ma.us/index.php/hatherly

Inly School: https://www.inlyschool.org/page

Jenkins Elementary School: http://www.scituate.k12.ma.us/index.php/jenkins

Little Steps Learning Center: http://littlestepslearning.net/

Owl’s Crossing Preschool: http://owlscrossing.com/

Quackers Preschool: http://www.daycarecenterssite.com/Scituate-MA/Quackers-Preschool.html

Scituate High School: http://www.scituate.k12.ma.us/index.php/shs

Wampatuck Elementary School:  http://www.scituate.k12.ma.us/index.php/wampatuck